Ijams Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of Ijams Nature Center exists to protect the public trust.

The Board’s duties are governance, including financial- and mission-related oversight and fund development. Board composition includes appointed members from the City of Knoxville, Knox County, Knoxville Garden Club, and Knox County Council of Garden Clubs. Members-at-large serve two, three-year terms. The Board meets at Ijams bi-monthly.


  • President: Carl Hill, Clayton Homes

  • Treasurer: Tonia Turner, Pinnacle Financial Partners

  • Secretary: Kevin Matherly, Partners

  • Immediate Past President: Bo Townsend



  • Teenie Hayworth, Former Owner, Penrose Farm

  • Sherri Lee, Retired Chair of the Board, Southeast Service Corporation



  • Rachel Butzler, Deputy Director, City of Knoxville Public Service Department

  • Carson Dailey, Knox County Commission, South Knoxville District

  • Sharon Davis, Knox County Council of Garden Clubs

  • Sheryl Ely, Director, City of Knoxville Parks & Recreation

  • Martha Kern, Representative, Knoxville Garden Club, Strong Stock Farm



  • Maureen Bosch, WVLT-TV Channel 8

  • Samma Bromley, Harper Auto Square

  • Paula Chesworth, KaTom Restaurant and Supply

  • Vince Fusco, Regal Entertainment Group

  • Susanne Hauk, The Trust Company of Tennessee

  • Jim Holleman, Avison Young

  • Matthew Kellogg, Appalachian Mountain Bike Club

  • Gary McCracken, University of Tennessee College of Arts & Sciences, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

  • David Reynolds, Home Federal Bank of Tennessee

  • Pat Richardson, Retired, University of Tennessee Haslam College of Business

  • Stephanie Welch, City of Knoxville

  • Celia Winchester, SWG Accounting & Business Services

Let's get social!

Facebook Logo- white.png